Webelos camp and the proud but anxious father

Camp trask fort

It is the eve before my son’s firstday at summer camp.   I get to drive him there and drop him off and drive away anxiously as he spends his week learning and playing with other scouts his age.  I think that I may be more concerned than he is.  As we were getting him ready, I made sure that he had his scouting 10 outdoor essentials, his webelos manual and some bacon jerky Incase he needed an extra snack. All I can think of is if he will be ok being at a strange camp by by himself (without a familiar grown up).  Then the paranoia set in followed by all the what ifs.  What if he wanders off and gets lost in the wilderness.  What if he comes across a bear.  What if there is a forest fire. There isn’t much more to write other than as every parent eventually does, I will have to let go and trust that my son can handle himself and take one more step closer to manhood by learning to be independent.  With a prayer and a hopeful heart I wish my best Bud a day filled with joy and learning at Camp.

 

Categories: Adventures, Parenting | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Webelos camp and the proud but anxious father

  1. That’s impressive that you let your son do overnight camping! What a brave soul he is – and you too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

